Log in

Section VIII: Couple and Family Therapy and Psychoanalysis

A Section of the Society for Psychoanalysis and Psychoanalytic Psychology: Division 39 of the American Psychological Association

Scholars Award

Couples and Family Therapy and Psychoanalysis, a section of APA Division 39, is pleased to offer Scholars Award for two students, postgraduate/early career professionals (ECP), or psychoanalytic candidates who have an interest in the area of couple and families within psychodynamic/psychoanalytic psychology.

The Division 39 Scholars Program is designed to help foster intellectual curiosity and professional development relevant to psychoanalytic approaches to clinical work, theory and research. The aim of this program is to promote learning about psychoanalysis and to facilitate open dialogue and exchange of ideas about the future of psychoanalytic thinking, research and practice in the field of psychology, and the role of psychologists in the future of psychoanalysis.

Expectations of the Section VIII Scholars Award winners:

  1. Award winners will be expected to attend the annual spring conference.
  2. After the conference, the winner will share a written reflection of their conference experience with the members of Section VIII via the Section VIII listserve and newsletter.
  3. Awardees will participate on a Section VIII committee of their interest during the award year.

Award recipients will receive the following benefits:

    • A $1000 travel stipend to attend the Division 39 Spring Meeting
    • 1-year membership to Division 39 and Section VIII
    • 1-year subscription to all Division 39 publications, including the Psychoanalytic Psychology journal, The Division/Review which comes out three times per year, and the monthly online newsletter Insight.
    • 1-year free access to Psychoanalytic Electronic Publishing (
    • A mentor from Section VIII who will be paired with the scholar to meet at a minimum of one time per month for one year
    • The opportunity to participate in a Section VIII committee of their interest

Applicants must meet the following criteria:

  • Currently enrolled as a student (graduate school in the field of psychology or social work, or candidate in a psychoanalytic institute), OR an early career professional (10 years or less post-doctoral experience) in clinical psychology.
  • Demonstrated interest in psychoanalysis and couples and/or family work.

The submission package must include the following information:

  • Brief written statement (maximum one page double-spaced) about your interest in attending the conference and your interest in couples and families, as it relates to the field of psychoanalytic psychology. Describe the work you have done with couples and families and how attending the conference will benefit your training and clinical practice.
  • Curriculum Vitae.

How To Apply:

The 2020 Scholars Program is now accepting applications!  The deadline for submission is January 1, 2020.  Please be sure to complete all required fields on the application and upload your CV.

If you have any questions about the Section VIII Scholars Program, please contact Luis Nobrega, LLM, PsyD (

If you have general questions about the Division 39 Scholars program, you may contact

Past Travel Awardees and Early Career Scholars

Note: Degrees listed were provided at the time the award was granted.


Jorge L. Alcantar-Heredia, M.A. (Psy.D. in progress)
Kristen Kopple, Ph.D.


Benjy Gottesman, Psy.D.
Marian E. Miller, M.A. (Psy.D. in progress)
Eli Diamond, Ph.D.
Sabra Ann Walter, M.S. (Psy.D. in progress)


Sarah Blair Jenkins
Ortal Kirson-Trilling, Psy.D.
Jenny V. Merkin
Sarah Kathryn White, Psy.D.
Tamar Kichli Borochovsky


Lisa Heisterkamp Davis, M.A., L.M.H.C.
Victoria Harley, Psy.D.
Marianna Leavy-Sperounis, M.C.P., M.Psy. (Psy.D. in progress)
Laura Levin, Ph.D.
Denise Mahone, Ph.D., M.F.A.
Stephanie Manes, L.C.S.W.
Jayne Miller, M.Psy. (Psy.D. in progress)
Brittney Silvestri, M.A.
Amy Taylor, M.A., Ph.D.
Michelle Zarowitz, M.A., L.M.F.T. (Psy.D. in progress)


Sonia Kahn, Psy.D.
Christina Peters
Heather MacIntosh Ph.D.
Emily Rotbart, M.Psy. (Psy.D. in progress)
Luis Nobrega
Keren Sofer, Psy.D.


Monique Bowen, Ph.D.
Andrea Liner (Psy.D. in progress)
Leora Trub
Ariela Vasserman

Copyright © 2020 Section VIII: Couple and Family Therapy and Psychoanalysis

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software